September 17, 2015

Green Knight

Druid Circle
Comments from the Finger: When I ask people what type of archetype they'd like to see, a bizarre number of people have commented that they want a druid that can chiefly control plants. The Pinkey has asked for it, the Thumb has thought about it, and two casual people I've DM'd for (who have literally played two sessions) arrived at the same idea. It was only a month or so ago when my brother got me to read the New 52 Swamp Thing that I got on board.

Circle of the Green

Knights of the Green are called upon by the Parliament of Trees to bring balance to the primary forces of life in the world: The Green and The Red. All that is Green represents the slow moving, but utterly ruthless life of plants and vegetation. The Red represents animal creatures of all kind. It is the purpose of the chosen druids of the Circle of the Green to battle the Red and bring restraint to the Green, so that life everywhere may continue.

Circle Spells
Beginning when you select this circle at 2nd level, your mystical connection to the land infuses you with the ability to cast certain spells. At 3rd, 5th, 7th, and 9th level you gain access to circle spells connected with the Green.
     Once you gain access to a circle spell, you always have it prepared, and it doesn’t count against the number of spells you can prepare each day.

Druid Level     Spells
3rd: entangle, goodberry
5th: protection from poison, spike growth
7th: plant growth, speak with plants
9th: grasping vine

Green Form
At 2nd level, your body is has been enveloped by a thick mass of leaves and vines, an embodiment of the Green, that moves with you as a second skin. Your Armor Class while unarmored is equal to 10 + your Dexterity modifier + your Wisdom modifier. Additionally, you have advantage on Dexterity (Stealth) checks made to hide among vegetation of any sort.

Green Empathy
Starting at 6th level, you know any language necessary to communicate with plant creatures, and have advantage on Persuasion checks with them.

Green Magic
At 10th level, when you cast a spell granted to you by your Circle Spells, you may cast it as a bonus action. After using this ability, you must complete a short or long rest before using it again.

Guardian Form
Beginning at 14th level, you can Wild Shape into a treant for 1 minute. After using this ability, you must complete a long rest before using it again.


Changelog: 9/18/15: Guardian Form is now rest powered and uses Wild Shape, rather than polymorph rules.

11 comments:

  1. Will there be a Red Knight druid coming as well?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Dan Powell, the contributor who brought us the Gambler and Elemental Barbarian, is working on the Red Knight (AKA Animal Man.) When he gets that wrapped and sent in, it'll be released as well.

      Delete
    2. It's true, it's on the way. First up is my Dragoon Fighter though. The Circle of Green is awesome btw!

      Delete
  2. At first I thought Green Form was a little strong, but the classes with Unarmored Defense get more stat increases, and we're not supposed to balance as if every character will hit 20 in multiple stats anyway, right?

    Also, Green Empathy on the pdf has Green Magic's text.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Just a question about Guardian form, does it require rests between uses? I'm assuming not, mostly because I don't have treant stats.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I intended it to be. It's edited to being used once per long rest and is now based on Wild Shape, not polymorph.

      Delete
  4. Should probably replace "Diplomacy" with something else, because Diplomacy doesn't exist in 5e.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. How about this:

      ...and you have advantage on ability checks and skill checks made to interact with them.

      Delete
    2. Good catch! I'll change this to Persuasion

      Delete
  5. RAW the green form AC boost should still apply in wild shape. I am picturing wolves and tigers and bears with interlaced vine armor all over their vital areas and it looks badass!

    ReplyDelete
  6. hey, under the green form section there is a typo. it says your body is has been enveloped. Sorry to bother

    ReplyDelete